The Designated Driver Challenge is a competition between two National League West Clubs: the Los Angeles Dodgers and the San Diego Padres. The winner of the Budweiser Good Sport Designated Driver Challenge is the Club with the most total points at the end of the 2017 regular season. Points are earned when fans pledge to be Good Sports – designated drivers – at MLB games. 

The Budweiser Good Sport Designated Driver Challenge is proof, once again, that Responsibility Really Does Have Its Rewards!

Rivalry games are those games when the Los Angeles Dodgers, the San Diego Padres and the San Francisco Giants host each other.

At these games, special promotions are in place to encourage fans to pledge to be Budweiser Good Sport designated drivers for their friends and family that day. Designated drivers help their favorite Club earn points in the Budweiser Good Sport Designated Driver Challenge.

Date Home Away
May 5-7, 2017 San Diego Padres Los Angeles Dodgers
August 11-13, 2017 Los Angeles Dodgers San Diego Padres
Dodgers 27998 DDs
Padres 44171 DDs
Designated Drivers Games
Los Angeles Dodgers 27,998 81
San Diego Padres 44,171 81
Club Ballpark Concessions Distributor
DodgersB Dodger Stadium Levy Restaurants Ace Beverage
PadresB Petco Park DN_SS_horizontal_white A-B Sales of San Diego

TEAM (Techniques for Effective Alcohol Management) Coalition is an alliance of professional and collegiate sports, entertainment facilities, concessionaires, stadium service providers, the beer industry, distillers, broadcasters, governmental traffic safety experts, and others working together to promote responsible drinking and positive fan behavior at sports and entertainment facilities.

TEAM Coalition offers designated drivers a chance to win tickets to the World Series® with the Responsibility Has Its Rewards campaign.

Each Club will earn one point in the Budweiser Good Sport Designated Driver Challenge for every fan who makes a pledge to be a designated driver at the ballpark during regular season home games.

Designated drivers must meet the following criteria:

  • Be 21 years of age or older
  • Promise not to drink alcohol at the game
  • Provide safe and sober transportation for their group

Fans may only pledge to be designated drivers once per game.

Year Challenge Winner
2016 San Diego Padres
2015 San Diego Padres
2014 Los Angeles Dodgers
2013 San Diego Padres
2012 San Diego Padres