The Budweiser Good Sport Designated Driver Challenge is a competition between two American League Central Clubs: the Cleveland Indians and the Minnesota Twins. The winner of the Budweiser Good Sport Designated Driver Challenge is the Club with the most total points at the end of the 2017 regular season. Points are earned when fans pledge to be Good Sports – designated drivers – at MLB games. 

The Budweiser Good Sport Designated Driver Challenge is proof, once again, that Responsibility Really Does Have Its Rewards!

Rivalry games are those games when the Cleveland Indians and Minnesota Twins host each other.

At these games, special promotions are in place to encourage fans to pledge to be Budweiser Good Sport designated drivers for their friends and family that day. Designated drivers help their favorite Club earn points in the Budweiser Good Sport Designated Driver Challenge.

Date Home Away
June 16-18, 2017 Minnesota Twins Cleveland Indians
June 23-25, 2017 Cleveland Indians Minnesota Twins
Indians 0 DDs
Twins 0 DDs
Designated Drivers
Cleveland Indians 0
Minnesota Twins 0
Club Ballpark Concessions Distributor
IndiansB Progressive Field DN_SS_horizontal_white The House of LaRose
TwinsB Target Field DN_SS_horizontal_white Capitol Beverage Sales

TEAM (Techniques for Effective Alcohol Management) Coalition is an alliance of professional and collegiate sports, entertainment facilities, concessionaires, stadium service providers, the beer industry, distillers, broadcasters, governmental traffic safety experts, and others working together to promote responsible drinking and positive fan behavior at sports and entertainment facilities.

TEAM Coalition offers designated drivers a chance to win tickets to the World Series® with the Responsibility Has Its Rewards campaign.

Each Club will earn one point in the Budweiser Good Sport Designated Driver Challenge for every fan who makes a pledge to be a designated driver at the ballpark during regular season home games.

Designated drivers must meet the following criteria:

  • Be 21 years of age or older
  • Promise not to drink alcohol at the game
  • Provide safe and sober transportation for their group

Fans may only pledge to be designated drivers once per game.

Year Challenge Winner
2016 Kansas City Royals
2015 Minnesota Twins
2014 Minnesota Twins
2013 Cleveland Indians